Speed humps revelation - mybrainhurts
I was rear ended recently and have spent a week in a Peugeot 307 hiremobile.

The pug does not notice speed humps, cushions or raised pedestrian crossings.
What an eye-opener.
I've been driving with a stiff suspension setup for several years and have to be inch-perfect to straddle cushions, or the thump is spine-jarring. Some new cushions are so high, I can't get over them below 30mph without grounding. Over 30mph lets me clear them!

My local authority has been laying these confounded obstacles for a few years, during which time I've broken 3 anti roll bar brackets and a coil spring, something that's never happened before in 38 years of motoring.

I thought everyone was exposed to this abuse.......not so.

If the pug is immune, I assume all normal suspension setups are immune.

So, what bl**dy purpose do they serve?
Re: Speed humps revelation - Mahatma Coate
Noticed pretty much the same thing in a Focus
Re: Speed humps revelation - ChrisR
If you really want immune, try a hydraulic Citroen.

Chris
Re: Speed humps revelation - Trevor Potter
"what bl**dy purpose do they serve?"

They slow cars down - and are the only effective means of so doing.

Did your "sporty" car thump when you went over humps at 10mph?

"the pug is immune"

Ah, but a pals Impreza turbo DEFINITELY "is immune" - so what speed does he go over them at - 20mph tops!!
Re: Speed humps revelation - The
> Ah, but a pals Impreza turbo DEFINITELY "is immune" - so what speed does he go over them at - 20mph tops!!

Are they in a 20 zone?

Or does he have some other reason for always travelling at 2/3 "tops" the posted limit?
Re: Speed humps revelation - Derek
I don't know where Trevor's pal lives, but the humps in my area are in a 20 limit. No problem if you keep within that limit.
Re: Speed humps revelation - Phil Ireland
Trevor

Please don't rise to Bogush bait. My head still aching from yesterdays diatribes.

rgds Phil I.
Re: Speed humps revelation - David W
Bogush,