Citroen Berlingo Multispace (2008 - 2018)

4
reviewed by Anonymous on 28 July 2018
5
reviewed by Ian Garratt on 28 November 2017
5
reviewed by tonyz on 30 June 2017
4
reviewed by Colin Agnew on 6 February 2017
4
reviewed by sep on 26 March 2016
2
reviewed by Anonymous on 29 August 2012
5
reviewed by tonyz on 18 June 2012
3
reviewed by 1994 on 9 June 2012
4

vtr

reviewed by billyjay on 11 October 2011
4
Overall rating
3
How it drives
5
Fuel economy
5
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
4
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
2
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

multi purpose ecconomical quick but rattles

I had the older 04 model and loved it for 120K miles so I decided to trade up and now wish I hadn’t. I have had this new model berlingo far just over a year now and covered 35k miles.

The newer shape is a bit easier on the eye than the 04 version and is a great deal bigger which suited me as I am a professional musician and carry loads of equipment.

The interior is well finished and very comfy for what is basically a van, it has a great sound system and plenty of headroom.

There are loads of cubby holes on the dash and in the doors but I have yet to find anything that fits in them, even the drinks holders don’t fit cans properly and the glove box is a joke but the Curry Hook is very handy.

The rear sliding doors are bigger that the old one as well which is great for belting the kids in etc. The rear seats also remove to make a huge load area which is great as the older models needed to be unbolted. I have had a full bathroom in mine.

Fuel ecconomy is great as I drive mostly motorway and A roads and it returns 48mpg easily at normal speeds. If you thrash it the least you will get is 42mpg.

Gearing is a bit low as the 1600 90bhp engine has loads of grunt and could easily cope with a taller 5th gear.

If you have a bad back or some disability it is great for getting in and out of as the doors are huge and the seat height is perfect to step out.

The only down side to the new model is the suspension which is rubbish. Going over normal village roads there is a metallic clatter from the front on each side. Citroen fitted new rubbers to the strut tops which has helped a bit. The worst part is the rear axle which feels like it is about to fall off if you hit anything more than a small pothole especially when the car is loaded. If you hit a bump the rear seems hop about with each bump, this is very noticeable when going over motorway bridge expansion joints. the rear tyres seem to wear at the same rate as the front ones which is strange

If you want something huge, reliable and a lot cheaper than a people carrier and can put up with the above rattles then this is the one for you. If you have the older version I would keep it until Citroen fix things.
would i buy another? --- probably as there is nothing else similar

Report as offensive

Write your review

Just reviewed...

5
submitted by James Roger Coulson
5
submitted by Cyd
3
submitted by Rusty Transit
 

Value my van