Renault Trafic (2014 on)

5
reviewed by John Prince on 8 September 2020
5
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 September 2020
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 25 November 2019
1
reviewed by Anonymous on 8 October 2018
1
reviewed by Colin Edwards on 15 May 2018
2
reviewed by russell addison on 4 December 2017
2
reviewed by russell addison on 4 December 2017
1
reviewed by Dampworks on 19 June 2017
1

120 Energy Sport

reviewed by Ashleigh Kidd on 14 May 2017
1
Overall rating
3
How it drives
2
Fuel economy
1
Cost of maintenance and repairs
1
Experience at the dealership
2
How practical it is
1
How you rate the manufacturer
1
Overall reliability

Avoid at all costs...

In December 2015 I purchased a brand new 65 plate Renault Trafic 120 Energy Sport van for my business as an electrical contractor.
I paid just over £17,000 inc VAT which I sourced from a Sainsbury's Bank Loan, since owning the vehicle I've had more than a reasonable amount of bother with it.
At 15,000 miles the gearbox went, it went in to my dealer where I purchased the van, and they replaced the gearbox under warranty which took around two weeks. Then due to the mechanics not fitting the gearbox correctly I had an oil leak.
I've also had problems with the heater fan where it whines loudly in any speed setting, it's been in for them to look at twice and both times they can't find a fault (although the Trafic courtesy vans fan is silent..)

The master cylinder gave up on me, which they also replaced under warranty.
Now at 24,000 miles the gearbox has gone again, exact same symptoms, local dealer diagnosed but couldn't get the vehicle in the workshop for 5 weeks so I contacted Renault UK who got it booked in at another dealer, they also provided an Enterprise hire van.
It took the dealer two weeks to look at the van and diagnose the problem, and I'm a further two weeks down the line waiting as they can't source a replacement gearbox from Renault France due to a stock shortage!! I've been working out of a hire vehicle now for 4 weeks with only my basic tools as I couldn't possibly empty the contents of my own van due to the racking installed etc...

I'm now considering legal action to obtain a replacement vehicle or a refund, if a refund is given I will look for a Transit/Transporter and never buy another Renault for as long as there's a hole in my ......

Report as offensive

Write your review

About this van

Price£20,395–£25,595
MPG42.8–47.9 mpg
Real MPG78.7%

Just reviewed...

4
submitted by Dampworks
5
submitted by Anonymous
5
submitted by herrbohnen
 

Value my van