Do you want the Road Tax system to change? Do you have thoughts on the potential changes to the Road Tax system? | No thanks

Hyundai i800 (2008 on)

3
reviewed by Robert McMahon on 12 September 2017
4
reviewed by I800dave on 13 May 2015
5
reviewed by Peugeot 106 66 on 12 April 2015
5
reviewed by D-FENS on 8 January 2013
5
reviewed by doomandgloom on 14 September 2012
5
reviewed by herrbohnen on 10 August 2012
5
reviewed by sportscross on 27 April 2012
5

Manual

reviewed by RichClaytonHull on 5 January 2012
5
Overall rating
5
How it drives
4
Fuel economy
4
Tax/Insurance/Warranty costs
4
Cost of maintenance and repairs
5
Experience at the dealership
5
How practical it is
5
How you rate the manufacturer
5
Overall reliability

Great for our huge family

As a family of five, we’ve had some good years out of our Renault Grand Scenic Automatic. That said, and with a new baby on its way, we looked at the Renault Grand Espace as a potential replacement to accommodate our family of six to be. It was luxurious enough, but it didn’t have the room we were expecting having looked at the brochure.

After a bit more research we stumbled across the Hyundai i800, reviews were mixed, but some were good. Top Gear were not very complementary, but to be honest it’s not their cup of tea, and were bound to give it a poor review.

We found a second hand model which we took for a test drive, there are surprisingly not many around, so finding one to look at proved challenging. When we got inside one, we were amazed by the shear size and space. Having eight seats this car really surpassed all other seven seat people carriers in carrying potential.

We eventually found a five month old i800 which we bought. We’ve owned it now for around a month, and are very happy with it. It’s taken a little while getting used to the manual gearbox, and handling the oversized car, but we’re now getting more familiar with it. It’s a pleasure to drive, and is great on the motorway. It has a huge boot in addition to the eight seats, so it’s going to be really useful for day to day use, but also for holidays on the continent. Storage “cubby holes” are very limited in comparison to Renault cars, with literally two small glove boxes on the front dash. It’s not a fancy vehicle, and has fairly limited kit, but it does have AC, Auto Dimming rear mirror, heated drivers seat amongst other bits and pieces. The MP3 capability of the radio is excellent. We have a small USB chocked with music, which plays perfectly showing the album and song details on the screen. Very neat.

It is a very big car, so you have to be selective as to where you can park, but the rear parking sensors make it much easier.

With regards to looks, with it’s blacked out rear windows, and matching dark metallic paintwork, to me it’s looks as stylish as a van type vehicle can, and don’t really understand those who knock its “boxy looks”. Height wise it’s slightly less than 2m, so should get into most multi storey car parks, but we’ve yet to brave it J

With a five year warranty, and equally long RAC cover, it offers trouble free motoring for a half decade, which is very reassuring.

Would certainly recommend. Thanks for reading.

Report as offensive

5
reviewed by herrbohnen on 19 October 2011
4
reviewed by jim03913 on 21 September 2011

Write your review

Just reviewed...

1
submitted by seanadvantec
 

Ask Honest John Right column

Value my van